Search By Topic


Future Earth Philippines Program launched in Manila

The Government-funded project will provide a concrete framework to strengthen the country’s resilience and sustainability.

Future Earth Philippines Program (FEPP), a national structure in the form of Government-funded project, was officially launched on November 19, 2018 at an international symposium in Manila. The inaugural event was graced by high-profile dignitaries and scientists from the Philippines and abroad and attracted more than 200 representatives of the government, civil society, academe, and non-government organizations (NGOs). Dr. Fortunato Dela Peña, the Secretary of Science and Technology at the Philippines’ Department of Science and Technology, encouraged the need for collaboration among relevant agencies, institutions and stakeholders to ensure that various perspectives are considered and subsequently warranting engagement and participation in his keynote message.

The Future Earth Philippines Program (FEPP) is a scientific endeavor aimed at strengthening the country’s resilience and national sustainability through the creation of Philippine Knowledge-Action Programs for Sustainability (PKAPS). It also seeks to link the country with regional and global initiatives on sustainability.

The Program is led by Dr. Lourdes J. Cruz, National Scientist of the Philippines, and some 70 scientists in the country will join forces. This is an inclusive and transdisciplinary initiative that aims to improve the country’s overall capability to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The main strategy to achieve its goal is to establish different PKAPS focusing on relevant sustainability issues of the country in collaboration with relevant government agencies and other societal stakeholders including academe, civil society and industry.

Funded by the Department of Science and Technology of the Philippines, the Program will provide a concrete framework for scientists across the country to improve the national resilience and sustainability.

For more information, read the full press release on the launch of the Future Earth Philippines Program.

In the photo from left to right of the front row: Dr. Fumiko Kasuga, Director of the Future Earth Tokyo Global Hub; National Scientist Lourdes Cruz, FEPP Project Leader; Sec. Fortunato Dela Peña of DOST; Acd. Rhodora Azanza, President of the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST); Dr Marieta Sumagaysay, Director of the National Research Council of the Philippines.

Front left to right of the back row: Dr. Adelaida Lucero, Dr. Maria Natalia Dimaano, Dr. Gregorio E.H. Del Pilar, Dr. Mitsuo Uematsu, Dr. Fabian Dayrit, Dr. Decibel Eslava, Dr. Tatsuyoshi Saijo, Usec. Renato Solidum Jr., Dr. Mazlan Othman, and Acd. Alvin Culaba.