The National Committee in India is hosted by the Indian National Science Academy (INSA)

A new National Committee for Future Earth India has been appointed by the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) for the years 2020-2025. The chair of the National Committee, Dr M N Rajeevan, is the Secretary of the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India. The members consist of scientists and researchers from various backgrounds, including climate, water, rural management, wildlife and palaeosciences–to reflect the multidisciplinary nature of the Future Earth initiative.


The National Committee is currently developing a plan for a Sustainability Program in India, which will focus on:
Increasing research capacity and public awareness regarding the water-energy-food nexus and associated public health risks

  • Bridging gaps between science, policy and practice
  • Encouraging young career researchers in the field of climate change and sustainability

This program will be carried out for a period of two years, as a part of the larger South Asia Regional Program of Future Earth. The National Committee plans on including a large and diverse set of stakeholders to engage and collaborate with on a regular basis in order to successfully implement this program.


Office Address:
Future Earth South Asia
Divecha Centre for Climate Change
Indian Institute of Science
Bangalore, Karnataka


Tel: 080-22933425/2075, Fax: 080-22933425

Related posts